Roger and I have arrived in New Orleans. We drove down and stopped at Jim Neely’s Interstate Barbecue outside of Memphis for lunch. Neely’s ribs are fabulous. They are meaty and slow-cooked after a dry rub. The sauce is slathered on at the last minute so it warms but doesn’t burn.

We’ve been listening to a book on tape “The Missing” which is set in 1920 in the same areas around the Mississippi River that we’ve been driving through.

We arrived in New Orleans just in time for dinner was at Drago’s. I walked in and felt instantly at home. The lobby was packed with people but there was a whole different feeling than you’d find in the same situation in Chicago. Everyone was happy! It was like waking into a wave of warm water. Roger and I were enveloped and bouyed along in the crowd.

Then a remarkable thing happened. I was standing next to a seat at the bar and when it opened up there was a guy and I staring at it. Even though the seat was next to his wife, he offered it to me. A real southern gentleman. We struck up a conversation with the couple and soon our table was called and we thanked them and went to the dining room.

Mrs. Drago showed us to our table. The Drago’s are Croatian and Roger’s boyhood friend’s mama is an acquaintance of Mrs. Drago. So they caught up on news quickly as the waiters swirled around with massive trays loaded with oysters.

Roger and I split a chopped shrimp salad and both had plates of char-broiled oysters, Drago’s specialty. You have to go there and see the operation. Four men are opening oysters as fast as they can. Just behind them is a huge grill. The oysters go on shell down. Cheese and butter are poured on and the flames leap around the shells. Lemon juice is squirted on to stop the flames. The oysters come to the table searing hot. Of course I burned my tongue on the first one because I couldn’t wait.

Today we’re off to Cabela’s to buy camo gear and waders. I hope we can find one’s that will fit me. I’m not long and lean by any means.

Tomorrow, Monday, December 30 is our first shoot day on the “Ma Louisianne” project with Chef John Besh.